All Sessions

0 sessions
Narrow by:
Format: 08/24/2017 - 5pm
Format: 08/24/2017 - 5pm
Time Title Type Location

Saturday, January 31 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
PopTop Stage - Diversity League Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

The Diversity League will host a panel discussion by its members, a group of 2015 debut authors committed to diversifying library shelves, one book at a time. The panel will be moderated by Danielle Paige, NYT-bestselling author of DOROTHY MUST DIE, and will introduce librarians to a group of diverse debut authors. After the discussion on how our books add to the diversity of YA literature, we will host a "meet and greet". Librarians are encouraged to make personal connections with the authors to learn more details about the panelists' books, and how best to introduce these titles to library patrons.

Panelists include: Sabaa Tahir, Nicola Yoon, Francesca Zappia, Miranda Paul, Adam Silvera, Fonda Lee, Sona Charaipotra, I.W. Gregorio, Danielle Paige

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, January 31 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
PopTop Stage - Science Fiction Panel Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Elizabeth Blackwell is a freelance writer whose work has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, Ladies’ Home Journal, Parenting, and the Chicago Tribune, among other publications. She lives outside Chicago with her husband and three children.

Chloe Neill is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Chicagoland Vampires and Dark Elite series. She was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When not transcribing Merit’s and Lily’s adventures, she bakes, works, and scours the internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Learn more about Chloe Neill by visiting www.chloeneill.com.

Jacqueline Carey is the author of the New York Times bestselling Kushiel’s Legacy series of historical fantasy novels. The Sundering epic fantasy duology, postmodern fables Santa Olivia and Saints Astray, and the Agent of Hel contemporary fantasy series. Carey lives in west Michigan. Find her online at www.jacquelinecarey.com.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, January 31 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
PopTop Stage - RB Narrator Panel featuring Barbara Rosenblat Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

An explanation by Barbara Rosenblat, Ms. Rosa of Orange is the New Black, will express how books translate to audio and how the two art forms compare. This includes readings from the book. Readings will be from different genres and discuss the art of narrating in different styles and a signing following the session.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, January 31 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
PopTop Stage - Don Tate Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Tate is an illustrator of more than 50 trade and educational books for children, with a focus on multicultural picture book biographies. His latest book is set in the nineteenth century, North Carolina featuring slave George Moses Horton. He taught himself to read and earned money to purchase his time—though not his freedom. Horton became the first African American to be published in the South, protesting slavery in the form of verse.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Saturday, January 31 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:00pm
PopTop Stage - Dark Fantasy and Science Fiction Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

With a bachelors in English: Creative Writing, and a Masters in Information and Library Science, Auden is a Dark Fantasy writer. "I can't help but be one and believe me, I've tried." It seems no matter how far you run, your passion always catches up with you. She didn't make the choice to be a writer, the stories made it for her. In fact, it started as a child when she created her own books by folding several construction papers in half and stapling them down the middle, adding her own illustrations to compliment. Dark Fantasy allows her to combine her two great loves- horror and fantasy. She has tried to write light or "normal" stories but you can't make the stories into something they don't want to be. Subtle creepy is beautiful.

Fonda LeeFonda Lee writes science fiction and fantasy for teens. She is a Canadian, a corporate strategist, and a black belt level martial artist now living in Portland, Oregon. Her YA science fiction novel, ZEROBOXER, will be published by Flux in April 2015. You can find Fonda online at www.fondalee.com and on Twitter @fondajlee.

Ken Liu’s fiction has appeared in F&SF, Asimov’s, Analog, Strange Horizons, Lightspeed, and Clarkesworld, among other places. He has won a Nebula, two Hugos, a World Fantasy Award, a Science Fiction & Fantasy Translation Award, and been nominated for the Sturgeon and the Locus Awards.

Sabaa TahirSabaa Tahir was born in London but grew up in California’s Mojave Desert at her family’s 18-room motel. After graduating from UCLA, Sabaa became an editor on the foreign desk at The Washington Post. Three summers later, she came up with the concept for her debut novel, An Ember in the Ashes. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, February 1 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
PopTop Stage - Stories of Women Pursuing Their Destiny Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Nadia Hashimi’s parents left Afghanistan in the 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. She was raised in the U.S. and in 2002 visited Afghanistan for the first time with her parents. Hashimi is a pediatrician and lives with her family in suburban Washington, D.C.

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes a vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, February 1 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
PopTop Stage - Fiction Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Kimberly McCreight is the New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia, which was nominated for the Edgar, Anthony and Alex awards. She attended Vassar College and the University of Pennsylvania Law School from which she graduated cum laude. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two daughters.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, February 1 - 12:00pm

12:00pm - 1:00pm
PopTop Stage - Jeffrey Brown Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Jeffrey Brown is a New York Times bestselling author, an Eisner Award–winning artist and writer of Darth Vader™ and Son, Vader’s™ Little Princess, Kids Are Weird, and numerous graphic novels and comics. A lifelong Star Wars fan, he lives in Chicago with his wife and two sons. Jeffrey’s work has enormous crossover appeal to audiences of all ages. More than 800,000 copies have been sold in the Darth Vader™ and Son series. He recently appeared at San Diego Comic-Con, and hosted an “Ask Me Anything” session on Reddit.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, February 1 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
PopTop Stage - Kimberly Brubaker Bradley Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley is the author of children’s novels, nonfiction ETRs, and several picture books. She lives in a Tennessee farmhouse with her husband and two children, Matthew and Katie.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, February 1 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
PopTop Stage - National Storytelling Network Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Award-winning performers from The National Storytelling Network will showcase a variety of storytelling styles and themes to delight listeners of all ages in this showcase featuring Midwestern talents. Performers featured will include a librarian, a teacher, plus three touring professional storytellers. Attendees will be treated to a diverse group of tellers who will encourage their audience to share their family stories and explore stories in literature, history, and science.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Sunday, February 1 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:00pm
PopTop Stage - Romance Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Beth Kery loves romance, and the more emotionally laden and sexy the romance the better. She holds a doctorate in the behavioral sciences and finds the internal world of human beings to be a constant source of fascination.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Monday, February 2 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
PopTop Stage - Renee Rosen Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Renée Rosen is the author of Dollface and the young adult novel, Every Crooked Pot. She lives in Chicago where she is at work on a new novel.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Monday, February 2 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
PopTop Stage - Mystery Series Panel Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

Kathleen Ernst (Middleton, Wis.) is an award-winning author, educator and social historian. Her past work as an Interpreter and Curator of Interpretations and Collections at Old World Wisconsin inspired the Chloe Ellefson mysteries. The series won the Lovey Award for Best Traditional Mystery (The Light Keeper’s Legacy) and the Anne Powers Fiction Book Award (The Heirloom Murders). Visit her online at KathleenErnst.com.

Mark Stevens (Denver, Colo.) worked as a reporter for The Christian Science Monitor, The Rocky Mountain News, The MacNeil/Lehrer News Hour and The Denver Post. He now owns his own public relations firm. Stevens is a member of the Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers and the Colorado Authors League. Visit him online at WriterMarkStevens.com.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)

Monday, February 2 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
PopTop Stage - A Novel Approach to Tough Topics: A Discussion on Writing Headline-Driven, All-Too-Real Fiction Other McCormick Place West
Exhibit Hall - PopTop Stage
Description :

A panel discussion focusing on developing plots and characters for fictional books with very realistic issues such as abuse, trafficking, and marital problems. How do you research and write on these topics?

Nicole Baart is the mother of four children from four different countries. The co-founder of a non-profit organization, One Body One Hope, and a world traveler, she splits her time between her home in small town Iowa, and Liberia, West Africa. She is the author of seven previous novels, including, most recently, Sleeping in Eden. Find out more at NicoleBaart.com.

Author and speaker Cynthia Ruchti tells stories that are hemmed in hope, drawing from more than thirty years of radio broadcast experience. She’s the author of more than 10 books that have received recognition from several awards programs. Visit her online at CynthiaRuchti.com.

Sponsors :
ALA
American Library Association (ALA)